Tattered Slippers Spotlight: Wrought of Silver and Ravens

Wrought of Silver and Ravens is part of the Tattered Slippers retellings.

What are the Tattered Slippers?

The Tattered Slippers are six retellings of The Twelve Dancing Princesses by six different authors, each one fantastic and magical. You don’t want to miss any of them!

For a chance to win four of these wonderful books, go here.

Wrought of Silver and Ravens, by E.J. Kitchens, releases today.

Author Bio:

E.J. Kitchens loves tales of romance, adventure, and happily-ever-afters and strives to write such tales herself. When she’s not thinking about dashing heroes or how awesome bacteria are—she is a microbiologist after all—she’s taking photos, reading, or talking about classic books and black-and-white movies. She is the author of the historical fantasy series THE MAGIC COLLECTORS and of several fairytale retellings. She is a member of Realm Makers and lives in Alabama.

Find her online at: Website || Blog || Goodreads || Facebook || Newsletter || Amazon


Title: Wrought of Silver and Ravens (Of Magic Made, Book One)

Purchase Links:


Add Book on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/53937054-wrought-of-silver-and-ravens


wroughtAthdar Owain is a hunted wanderer, one determined to keep his secrets and the treasure he carries safe at all costs. When he rescues the Kingdom of Giliosthay’s prince from raiders, he’s rewarded by being forced into the king’s elite Silver Guard. While this gives Athdar a temporary home and some protection from those hunting him, it also makes him responsible for the young prince, who still bears curses from the raiders, and seven enchantress princesses with curses as mysterious and dangerous as their brother’s.

Princess Thea of Giliosthay is a Realm Walker. Betrayed by a trusted guard, her rare gift of enchantment is used to curse her brother and trap herself and her six sisters into a nightly dance with dragons in a secret Realm. The Realm’s prince has the ability to take and twist her magic for his own purposes, and Thea fears what those might be. For when one dances with a prince, a kingdom might be at stake.

Athdar alone can save them, but to trust enchanters is to risk exposure. And Athdar isn’t sure where his loyalties lie.

Wrought of Silver and Ravens is a clean adventure-romance retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses set in The Magic Collectors story world.

Positive Elements:

A character acts as a good Samaritan; characters are protective of their siblings and family, no matter the cost.

Negative Elements:

One instance of “damn”.


The Most High God is discussed; characters pray; the Bible is referred to as the Great Book; a verse is quoted; a character studies the Bible; a character prays for another’s redemption.


A character is found almost dead from wounds sustained in an attack; characters are attacked, resulting in injuries; it is mentioned a character was killed by bandits; characters are kidnapped; characters are drugged; characters are forced to kill to protect themselves; characters are put under curses.


Characters use magic; characters drink wine.


5 Stars.


I knew from the first page of Wrought of Silver and Ravens that I would enjoy the book. And enjoy I did. Wonderful characters and character arcs, an incredible plot and sub-plots, and just a delightful tale make Wrought of Silver and Ravens probably the best fairy tale retelling I’ve ever read. My only complaint is the one instance of the curse word, which was completely unnecessary. Normally I would dock a book for using a curse word, but Wrought of Silver and Ravens has so many enjoyable qualities, the book receives a definite five star.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s